4 Super Bowl champs are Hall finalists

BARRY WILNER AP Pro Football Writer Published:

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Super Bowl winners Charles Haley, Bill Parcells, Jerome Bettis and Ed DeBartolo Jr. are among 17 finalists who will learn Saturday if they are voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Haley is the only player to win five Super Bowls, two with the 49ers and three with Dallas. DeBartolo owned the San Francisco team that won five NFL titles from 1981-1994.

Parcells coached the Giants to Super Bowl wins in 1987 and 2001. He also took the Patriots to the 1997 game they lost to Green Bay.

Bettis helped the Steelers win the 2006 Super Bowl in his hometown of Detroit.

Other finalists are Curtis Martin, Cris Carter, Tim Brown, Andre Reed, Chris Doleman, Dermontti Dawson, Kevin Greene, Cortez Kennedy, Willie Roaf, Aenaes Williams, first-year nominee Will Shields, and senior committee nominees Jack Butler and Dick Stanfel.